Kenya Embassy Angola

Education System


Historical records not only from the travels of Johann Ludwig Krapf and Johannes Rebmann reveal that Kenyans had access to education as far back as 1728 with a Swahili manuscript Utendi wa Tambuka (Book of Heraclius) attesting to the fact. The CMS missionaries interacted with locals in the coastal town of Mombasa and set up one of the earliest mission schools in the country at Rabai in 1846. Before independence elementary education was based on the colonial system of education. In 1967, Kenya, with Uganda and Tanzania, formed the East African Community. The three countries adopted a single system of education, the 7-4-2-3, which consisted of 7 years of primary education, 4 years of secondary education, 2 years of high school and 3–5 years of university education.
With the collapse of the East African community in 1977, Kenya continued with the same system of education until 1985 when the 8-4-4 system was introduced, which adopted 8 years of primary education, 4 years of secondary education and 4 years of university education.
Before joining primary school, children aged between three and six are required to attend pre-primary for one or two years.
Primary education is universal, free and compulsory and usually caters for children ages 6 to 14. A major goal of primary school education is to develop self-expression, self-discipline and self-reliance, while at the same time providing a rounded education experience.
Secondary education begins around the age of fourteen and lasts for four years. Secondary school education especially in public school is subsidized by the government, with the government paying tuition fee for students attending public secondary school.
The roots of higher education in Kenya date only from 1956 with the founding of Nairobi’s Royal Technical College, a school that would in 1970 become the country’s first university – The University of Nairobi.
Today the story has considerably more depth. Kenya has:

Recent legislative changes to university education

In September Margaret Kamar, Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology, signed The Universities Bill 2012, which seek to introduce radical changes to higher education such as:
In January 2013, the bill was signed into law, bringing public universities, which were previously governed by specific acts of parliament, under the same law as private institutions.
Kenyan authorities, in partnership with the EAC (East African Community), are also promoting more student mobility. To that end, in November 2012, education ministers from Kenya, Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda met in the Rwandan capital Kigali, and after three years of negotiations, approved the Inter University Council for East Africa (IUCEA) Bill 2012.

Public Universities

Following the enactment of the Universities Act No. 42 of 2012, these institutions individual Acts were repealed. This signified their award of Charters on 1st March 2013:
University Constituent Colleges were previously established by Legal Orders under their respective mother University Acts. This was replaced after the institutions met the set accreditation standards and guidelines set by the Commission which culminated to their Charter award to be fully-fledged public universities. These institutions are:

Public University Constituent Colleges

These were established by a Legal Order under the then Act of the University shown in bracket against each, after requisite verification of academic resources by the Commission for University Education. These are:

Public University Campuses

Chartered Private Universities

These are universities that have been fully accredited:

Private University Colleges

Catholic University of Eastern Africa has the following constituent Colleges:

Universities with Letter of Interim Authority (LIA)

The following universities are operating with Letters of Interim Authority (LIA), while receiving guidance and direction from the Commission for University Education in order to prepare them for the award of Charter:

Registered Private Universities

Comments are closed.